Moon Shine

So. A super moon tonight. Huh. Well, this was sort of a bust.

It was -6C and the gravel road was extremely icy so rather than walk to a spot where I could shoot the moon between trees, I drove.

I got into position too late, arriving as clouds began dragging across the moon. I only managed a few shots before it disappeared behind a black wall.

But it wasn’t a lost venture. While I waited in hopes the clouds would dissipate (they didn’t) the neighbour’s cattle dog came over to say hello and we had a nice visit. Several minutes later the owner drove by in the tractor. Feeding late tonight.

So I’ll try again tomorrow. And if that doesn’t work, Google tells me the next super moons aren’t far away ā€” January 1 and 31 so I’ll have time to practice my techniques. šŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Moon Shine

  1. I saw it rise, but that was the extent of it. By midnight, clouds had moved in, and we’ve been cloudy and foggy since. But as you say, there are two chances in January. Here’s hoping we both have better luck.

    Like

    1. Ah, so you were trying to grab a shot too. I don’t have much experience photographing the moon. Still trying to figure out all the settings for manual mode. šŸ™‚

      Like

      1. I sometimes have trouble breathing when I leave my camera at home. (Nah, just kidding.) The night before the super moon was perfect as we drove home ā€” big moon, no clouds, no camera. I have missed many shots (some one-of-a-kind) so whenever possible I take it. It’s small enough that it doesn’t pose a problem (Sony A6000).

        Like

  2. Night photography is escaping me too and the manual options are so far limited to day time photos. The moon and stars here in Creuse are so vivid with few towns adding their light influence, it would be good master.

    Like

    1. If the clouds are gone this evening, I’ll go out again, tho’ there is the possibility of snow. Try, try and try again. Good luck with your efforts. šŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Indeed they do ā€” all 5 or 6 or more months of it! For example, the aspens here shed their leaves in late September and don’t usually leaf out again until mid-to-late May. You can come visit any time, Curt. šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment